Reading a book

If one cannot enjoy reading a book over and over again, there is no use in reading it at all. – Oscar Wilde

The 24th Annual City of Vancouver Book Award is back. Authors and publishers of books that contribute to the appreciation and understanding of Vancouver’s history, its unique character, or its residents’ achievements are encouraged to submit entries.

The book can be of any genre and should demonstrate excellence in content, illustration, design, and/or format. To be eligible, books must be published in 2011 or 2012 and meet the application criteria. The eligibility and evaluation criteria for the award reflect the importance of diversity in both literary genres and subject matter.

All entries must include:
– Four copies of the book
– A $20 submission fee
– A completed entry form

Entry forms and guidelines are available from the Cultural Services Department at the Woodward’s Heritage Building, 111 West Hastings Street, Suite 501, or on via the City’s website. The deadline for entries is Wednesday, May 23.

An independent panel of judges will choose the winner of the $2,000 prize. The short list of finalists will be announced in September, and the award will be presented in October by Mayor Gregor Robertson.

Recent past winners include Michael Christie for The Beggar’s Garden; Bruce Grenville and Scott Steedman for Visions of British Columbia; Lee Henderson for The Man Game; and Brad Cran and Gillian Jerome for Hope in Shadows.

No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.