Open Book

The City of Vancouver invites publishers and authors to submit entries for the 23rd annual City of Vancouver Book Award.

The award recognizes books of any genre that contribute to the appreciation and understanding of Vancouver’s history, its unique character, or the achievements of its residents. The winning book must also demonstrate excellence in content, illustration, design, and/or format.

A $2,000 prize is up for grabs and the winner will be decided upon by an independent panel of judges. The shortlist of finalists will be announced in September, and the award will be presented in October by Mayor Gregor Robertson.

To be eligible for consideration, books must be published in either 2010 or 2011 and meet the application criteria.

All entries must include:

– Four copies of the book
– A $20 submission fee
– The completed entry form
Entry forms and guidelines are available from the Cultural Services Department at the Woodward’s Heritage Building, 111 West Hastings Street, Suite 501, or on the City’s website. Deadline for entries is Wednesday, May 25, 2011.

Past award winning books

Recent past winners include Bruce Grenville and Scott Steedman for Visions of British Columbia; Lee Henderson for The Man Game; Brad Cran and Gillian Jerome for Hope in Shadows; and Michael Kluckner for Vancouver Remembered.

No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.