Chef Rob Feenie

Did you have a chance to watch last night’s Iron Chef Canada battle between Cactus Club’s Rob Feenie and defeating challenger Chef John Horne?

Last night it went down on Food Network Canada as the stakes revolved around the episode’s secret ingredient: bivalves.

Chef Feenie’s Iron Chef journey began in 2005 when he defeated Iron Chef Masaharu Morimoto, becoming the first Canadian to win Iron Chef America. In that battle, as in last night’s, Chef Feenie was supported by Sous Chef Wayne Harris.

Together with Chef Harris and Sous Chef Henry Wong, the trio steadfastly created five dishes featuring the secret ingredient. Their first dish was scallop carpaccio with Northern Divine caviar from B.C.’s Sunshine Coast.

They later incorporated the culinary curveball – sea salt and vinegar chips – into a topping for baked razor clams with parsley and garlic butter.

Feenie, renowned for his ravioli, created a standout dish inspired by the Italian classic spaghetti alle vongole by stuffing ravioli with fresh clams in a butter sauce.

According to Feenie, “One of the best things about Iron Chef Canada is that it not only showcases Canada’s top culinary talent but also food and high-quality ingredients that are truly Canadian”.

Chef Horne oversees restaurants including Toronto’s Canoe in his role as District Executive Chef at Oliver & Bonacini Hospitality.

“I have always been a big fan of Canoe – it’s one of my favourite restaurants,” says Rob Feenie. “John is one of Canada’s top chefs and he came to the competition with two incredible sous chefs. When I found out it was him, I knew it was going to be a hard-fought battle.”

I had the pleasure of watching the show with fellow media, friends and invited guests at the Cactus Club in Coal Harbour with chef Feenie in the house. When the judges announced Feenie as the winner, the crowd went wild and clinked glasses in honour of our city’s own.

This is Chef Feenie’s second victory in the inaugural season of Iron Chef Canada. On October 24, he battled fellow BC chef and mentee, Ned Bell.

Since 2008, Chef Rob Feenie has helmed Cactus Club Cafe’s food program and test kitchen. Chef Feenie works closely with Cactus Club’s Founder and CEO, Richard Jaffray, on menu development, and leads the company’s talented team of product development chefs.

Look for Iron Chef Canada on Food Network Canada, airing Wednesdays, 7 pm PST/10 pm EST.

Chef Feenie’s bivalve battle will repeat on November 29 at 8 pm PST/11 pm EST, December 2 at 3 pm PST/6 pm EST and on December 4 at 11 am PST/2 pm EST, and can be streamed here.

No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a Comment